My Colorful Whimsy

ColorfulWhimsy

Mixed Media Art by Yva Barbour

In this piece, I was playing a lot with color and texture.  It’s acrylic, ink and oil pastel on paper that is mounted on a metal backing.  It was actually a magnetic board that I found in the clearance section of Michael’s.  I liked getting a little lost in this whimsical world of color.  For me, the real beauty of this piece comes through in the tiny details of the colorful background.  There are textures in the paper itself that are complemented by the texture of the paint.  There are colors that get lost in other colors and combine to make new colors that were unexpected surprises.  The simple silhouette of the fanciful foreground contrast the beautiful background to create a feast for your eyes…or at least for mine.  What can I say? I’m a little in love with this little work of art of mine.  I hope you’ll like it, too.

3 thoughts on “My Colorful Whimsy

    • Thanks! I’ve actually been doing some monoprinting lately too, but this one started with a collage of patterned papers and then I just went to town with paint, gelatos, a stamp, a stencil, and an artist pen.

  1. Pingback: Whimsy | Spread Information

Leave a Reply

