Birdscape

Mixed Media Art by Yva Barbour

Mixed Media Art by Yva Barbour

This is a 24″ x 36″ canvas that I did this evening.  I had found this cool art paper at my local art store featuring these birds, and I’d been hanging on to them for a while waiting for some inspiration on how to use them.  I utilized quite a few of my art supplies for this project including pan pastels, acrylic paint, stencils, spray inks, Derwent art bars, Pitt Artist Brush Pens, just to name a few.  I had fun playing with layers and texture.  I gave the birds some color and pen work to make them pop more.

I’ve been going through a lot lately, and my inspiration came from that feeling we all have sometimes when life just seems a little overwhelming and thoughts of escaping to a beautiful place come to mind.  Birds have the ability to just pick up and fly away at their leisure.  If I were a bird, I’d fly far far away for the weekend, and then I’d extend my stay for the week!

Alas, circumstance keeps me home for now, so I’ll just use my imagination and go to a beautiful place in my mind, and then escape into my art where I can go anywhere, anytime.

Leave a Reply

