Watercolor Art Journal Page 

  

I was excited to participate in a blog hop hosted by Pretty Pink Posh. You can read more about it here: Pretty Pink Posh Blog Hop, but it’s basically an online event where fellow artists and crafters get to share their creativity by creating projects with a similar theme. This time it was watercoloring, and I thoroughly enjoy playing with this medium so I knew I wanted to take part. Since I’m currently traveling abroad, I only have a limited amount of my art supplies with me, so I’m sharing a page I created in my travel sketchbook. 

  
I prepped the paper by gluing two pages together to add beef to it, so it could handle the wet media. Preferrably, I’d be working on watercolor paper to do a watercolor project, but this was all I had with me, so I made due. I put down a layer of gesso to add some tooth to the paper, hoping it would give it even more workability. 

I used my Caran d’Ache Neocolor II watercolor crayons to create the background. The hand lettering was done with the Akashiya Sai Watercolor Brush Pen Set. I used a black Gelato to frame the page, and then splattered some black acrylic paint with a fan brush. 

This was a quick and easy page to create, and I’m happy with the result. We’ll be heading to Venice tomorrow, and while it’s been a life long dream to see it in person, I am just trying to soak in every moment of this journey in the hopes that it will bring me a new perspective on the world we live in. 

Thanks to Paulina at Pretty Pink Posh for putting this blog hop together and to the sponsors as well, who have given us all motivation to get artsy by contributing to the prize pool. 

  

4 thoughts on “Watercolor Art Journal Page 

Leave a Reply

