Mixed Media Mash-Up Cards

 

If you’re needing a little jump start to your Art Journaling, then I’ve got the perfect solution for you! These Mixed Media Mash-Up cards are prompts that you can use in a variety of ways to help get you going on a spontaneous and fun art journal page. I’m sure you’ve seen this before, and it’s definitely not something new. I had picked up a package of blank Project Life cards meaning to make these a while back. I wish I could tell you the first time I saw something like them, but it’s been awhile, so I can’t recall where that would have been. It might have been this video by CreaBoetiek. My friend, Mike Deakin, has a Facebook group that does something similar if you don’t want to make the cards yourself called Mission Inspiration. Carolyn Dube does some fun videos with the gelli plate, and she inspired me to use it on my cards.  However, it was this video by my friend, Stacy, at Pink Poodle Crafts that finally got me off my butt to go ahead and make my own set of Mixed Media Mash-Up cards. She offers the first set of 40 cards that she came up with for free, so I emailed her to get the file and then did a little customizing to make the prompts fit on one page and the instructions fit on another page. If you’d like to download them, so you can make your own set, you can get them here.

You can watch me make my set of cards in this video, where I did a lot of gelli printing to pretty up the backsides of the cards. I printed the prompts on an Avery Sticker sheet and cut them down with my paper trimmer to fit on the cards. Then I measured the Project Life box the cards came in and created my own gelli printed box to house them. This was a fun little project, and I look forward to using them for my art journaling very soon!

 

4 thoughts on “Mixed Media Mash-Up Cards

Leave a Reply

